Forgive my absence, darlings

My apologies for the extended break. I’ve been thinking of you, I swear, I just kept getting distracted with life, which should always trump writing about life, in my opinion.

Here’s some eye candy from my garden and my table to help us get over this awkward period of reacquaintment:

Raspberries!

Tomatoes!

tomatoesWe’ve got ten(!!!) heirloom tomato plants and it’s hard to keep up with their bounty. BLTs have become a weekly meal at our house.

One thing we’ve been making with them is pasta sauce. Roast cherry tomatoes with garlic & olive oil, puree and then add some fresh basil. It’s easy and delicious. Here are some tomatoes all sliced up and ready for roasting.

tomatoesroast

Why so much pasta sauce? I got a pasta roller for my birthday (thanks, M & D!) so I’ve been making fresh pasta. It’s fun and easy, and now there’s a bunch of homemade ravioli hanging out in the freezer.

ravioli

I’m not the only one going to town in the kitchen. Jim succeeded in luring me away from a community garden meeting when he sent me a picture of the tomato tart he’d just made.

tomato tart

Quite the incentive to come home, don’t you think?

2 responses to “Forgive my absence, darlings

  1. Please send the recipe to Andy LaVigne…

  2. Those all look/sound amazing. I have 15 tomato plants that are all grown together so I can’t even reach some of the ripe tomatoes in the thick of it all! It’s tragic but amusing.

Leave a comment